Question, I'm new to this

Hi guys,

Does my EA work only if my MT4 platform is OPEN and connected to the internet?

What if I lose connection or my laptop battery runs out? is there any way to put my EA on a chart and let it run without consumming electricity? I want to go automated while staying green :)

newea:

Hi guys,

Does my EA work only if my MT4 platform is OPEN and connected to the internet?

What if I lose connection or my laptop battery runs out? is there any way to put my EA on a chart and let it run without consumming electricity? I want to go automated while staying green :)

Your EA will only work if the MT4 platform is open and connected to the internet. You can use a vpsto run your EA 24/5 for a fee. Not sure how green they are but that is the only way to have your ea running all the time while being able to turn off your computer when you need to.

I recommend http://www.forexvps.com

One solution would be to pay a hosting service to host the platform and EA for you.

CB

hmm. thanks guys. I wonder the following now.. what if my EA opens a trade and then I shut off my computer. What happens to the exit strategy?

I'm thinking probably if the exit condition is complex and dynamic then probably it won't be taken into account.. but if it's as simple as Stop Loss = 50 pips, then probably it will?

Or maybe the logic here is it won't.. because when my EA executes a trade it does not put a Stop Loss associated to the trade on my MT4, but yet it's a simple stop loss.. So I guess the EA needs to be running in order for a simple stop loss to take effect ?

newea:

hmm. thanks guys. I wonder the following now.. what if my EA opens a trade and then I shut off my computer. What happens to the exit strategy?

I'm thinking probably if the exit condition is complex and dynamic then probably it won't be taken into account.. but if it's as simple as Stop Loss = 50 pips, then probably it will?