Question from beginner

Hello Everyone,

I am a beginner with MQL4 but I do have some programming experience. I am working on my first EA and it compiles fine without any errors or warnings. Nevertheless, I am stuck. I tried to structure my program similar to ones I see online and etc... In my start() function I check the various setup conditions and make orders based on these conditions. However, my program does not make any trades (even when tested over as long as six months). I cannot understand why this is so. I tried checking conditions in a regular function and then call it in the start() function, along with other things, but nothing helps. I attached my file - if someone could explain to me what I am doing wrong.

Thank You,

denrus

Files:
fpa3z4.mq4  5 kb

denrus:

[...] I attached my file - if someone could explain to me what I am doing wrong.

From literally 10 seconds of inspection - so apologies if this is nonsense - the problem looks as though it's because you're trying to enter positions by placing a buy/sell stop at the current ask/bid price. This isn't going to work. A stop is a pending order which needs to be at least the broker's stop-level - MarketInfo(Symbol(), MODE_STOPLEVEL) pips - away from the current price. If you simply want to enter at the current market price, use OP_BUY or OP_SELL rather than OP_BUYSTOP or OP_SELLSTOP.

There may be other problems in the code; this is just the one which leapt out at me. The perennial recommendation in this forum is to use Print() to log what your code is trying to do, and where problems are occurring.

jjc:

From literally 10 seconds of inspection [...]

There may be other problems in the code; this is just the one which leapt out at me.