the annoying issue with the backtesting...

hi forum,

the last two weeks i made a life test with my EA wich in most of the times runs pretty good. the result was really bad, and i testet the same period with the same mashine in the strategy tester.

the results were completely different !

in the realtime result the final margin was 1600 ( begun with 10,000). in the backtest, the result magin was a bit more than in the beginning.

The more funny is, that I testet the same bot with a little different strategie on another mashine. the result was different, too, between backtest and realtime test.

the problem i have now: how can I optimize my bots if all the backtesting data doesnt have anythign to do with the realtime data?

I allready tested with importing data like described in the forum several times, but this doesnt change so much.

how do you guys test you bots for realtime ?

thanks for your hints..

filip

Hi,

I'm fairly new to this as well. In my limited experience along with looking at other's postings like yours, I have these things to offer:

1st: Many broker's 'stack the deck' and purposely alter the data so that your EA will appear to do better than it will in real live 'forward testing'

2: I and others have found back testing to be so inaccurate that it is completely meaningless! When you are checking the results are you looking at and taking into account what its accuracy rating is?

Along with this dilemma is the problem of 'over optimizing' on the same data set. In an effort to optimize an EA, in order to get results that are properly correlated to each other, many people always reuse the same data set for this understandable reason. But then it is optimized for that specific data set only, and not the reality of live trading where the data is always changing and unknown.