Time Based Exit - please help

Hi, I would really appreciate some help as I am completely new to mql. I programmed a basic strategy, but I need to include a time based exit (eg: Close order if time from entry exceeds or equals to 2 days). Like an inactivity stop in a way. I spent ages trying to figure out the time thing but no luck so far.

Could someone who's wise enough share their knowledge?

Thank you!

niko:

Hi, I would really appreciate some help as I am completely new to mql. I programmed a basic strategy, but I need to include a time based exit (eg: Close order if time from entry exceeds or equals to 2 days). Like an inactivity stop in a way. I spent ages trying to figure out the time thing but no luck so far.

Could someone who's wise enough share their knowledge?

Thank you!

Build a function which does the following:

- Notes the current year, and day index number within year (eg. today is approximately 160) using the DayOfYear() function.

- Notes the current time - see date and time functions in the documentation.

- Loops through the order list checking first whether each order is at least 2 days older and if it is exactly 2 days older, then also that the OrderOpenTime() is earlier than the current time.

- Closes any order which matches the above criteria.

Prefer to give you pseudocode rather than coding it up for you, as I'm sure you'd prefer to learn.

Hope this helps,

CB

cloudbreaker:

Build a function which does the following:

- Notes the current year, and day index number within year (eg. today is approximately 160) using the DayOfYear() function.

- Notes the current time - see date and time functions in the documentation.

- Loops through the order list checking first whether each order is at least 2 days older and if it is exactly 2 days older, then also that the OrderOpenTime() is earlier than the current time.

- Closes any order which matches the above criteria.