Broker Accounts

I am a newbie to MetaTrader and Automated Trading but an oldie to Forex trading. When I install MetaTrader4 I am offered a demo account with a company called United World Capital. Can someone tell me who they are and whether they are the only company I can have my acount with? Or maybe I am missing something as far as this is concerned. Thanks for your help. David

The man is experiencing the same problem I had with demos, we know that there are other servers to use but MetaTrader 4 cannot see them to open demo accounts.

Clicking scan just leaves you with the United World Capital demo account only.

I want to try a specific brokers demo account for a week on its own, before I open a live account. I have emailed the one I am looking at and I will post if they can suggest anything

Onyx:

The man is experiencing the same problem I had with demos, we know that there are other servers to use but MetaTrader 4 cannot see them to open demo accounts.

Clicking scan just leaves you with the United World Capital demo account only.

I want to try a specific brokers demo account for a week on its own, before I open a live account. I have emailed the one I am looking at and I will post if they can suggest anything

download client from your preferred broker. That's all. Broker server is included in broker client.

damtoul:

download client from your preferred broker. That's all. Broker server is included in broker client.

Thank you, I have tested two different demo accounts on two different machines (in different locations) but I had not realized that the servers on the server list were limited to a specific broker, it raises the question, why have a server list in the first place? Certainly the scan button seems overkill to the requirements of the program.

Anyway thank you for clarifying the point for me.

Onyx

> servers on the server list were limited to a specific broker

Well sort of - if you look at this article