Accurate Back Test

Hello,

I am new to MQL, I am confused about accuracy of back tests. Here this part I'm copying from user guide, in strategy testing part of trade platform :

Methods of Modeling

Historical data are saved in the terminal only as bars and represent records appearing as TOHLCV (HST format). These data can be used for modeling of price changes at testing of experts. In some cases, such information is not enough for testing. For example, for the daily timeframe, price changes within a bar can result in triggering of the expert. At the same time, no triggering can occur at testing. In other words, testing of an expert based on only bars can be inaccurate and give a false idea about the expert efficiency.

And, also not for just for back testing, I'm looking to some mql4 examples, they are using generally bars for calculations. Is there any way to use ticks in my programs? if yes for back testing is there any accurate data for really accurate tests?

Thanks.

From what I understand, the ticks option in the drop down testing box is the most accurate option to test on.

However I introduce random lags in my program of 1 - 10 minutes, this also helps with demo testing as lag from a live server can be a few minutes.
If your program can stand up to several minute halts before it gets new information to work with, its going to be more robust when you go live is my thinking.

Onyx:

From what I understand, the ticks option in the drop down testing box is the most accurate option to test on.

However I introduce random lags in my program of 1 - 10 minutes, this also helps with demo testing as lag from a live server can be a few minutes.
If your program can stand up to several minute halts before it gets new information to work with, its going to be more robust when you go live is my thinking.

What you mean as introducing random lags, can you give some examples?

metdos:

What you mean as introducing random lags, can you give some examples?