#mtf & periodconverter.mq4

Hey everyone. I'm fairly new to programming but I've recently gone through the (fantastic) book on this site and have a couple years of practical experience in MT4 modifying indicators and eas to the best of my ability. Now I'm ready to create my own system and I had a quick question.

I've an idea for a trading strategy that would be a great deal easier to program if I could use data from custom time frames created by periodconverter.mq4. Essentially, I stumbled across some multi-time frame indicators and found a couple of them work pretty well (they actually just display correctly). I will need to modify the indicator itself to work with my own oscillator, but the code seems to only allow the indicator's use with the standard periods in MT4.

Has anyone ever used data from custom charts created with periodconverter.mq4 (offline charts) for use in an multi-time frame indicator or ea? Periodconverter.mq4 has a .csv output option which I think I might end up having to use for the algorithms in the ea itself. Is this right?

Any and all help is greatly appreciated.

-R

Files:

https://docs.mql4.com/indicators/iCustom

This will allow you to use multiple timeframes at once. Use that in your ea to get info on timeframes other than your current one.

jmca:

https://docs.mql4.com/indicators/iCustom

This will allow you to use multiple timeframes at once. Use that in your ea to get info on timeframes other than your current one.

Thanks for the response, jmca.

I actually just referenced the period after using periodconverter.mq4 to create the .hst file. As long as the period converter indicator is actively drawing and updating data from the custom time frames, it looks like I can just specify the custom timeframe as the extern "period" indicator without any change in the mtf code itself. For example..

Open GBPUSD H1

Attach periodconverter.mq4