Q1: Sell 1 lot eur/chf or sell 1 lot eur/usd with 1 lot usd/chf? Q2: How to use EA to close pofit for "hedge" or "statistical arbitrage"?

Evening to all,

I'm new to forex and have 2 simple questions :)

Q1: When i approached a naysayer Remisier "buddy" (Mr A) and asked him about hedging eur/chf, he asked his broker colleague who is supposed to be a forex expert (Mr B),
instead of buying 1 lot of eur/usd and 1 lot of usd/chf, he suggested i should just buy 1 lot of eur/chf.
He also said that "hedging" is only what traders use to make it sound sophisticated for investors to admire and its a scam to generate more spread earned.

I got a feeling it might not be so, hence i am practising through demo account and i believe it will work wonders. Any comments on this "hedge" or "statistical arbitrage" theory?

Q2: I believe that after hedging (for short(forget about political correctness)) i can use EA to tabulate or close trades at say 1 or 2% and can go sleep with peace and wake up logging in to see good news. :) How do i do the EA and what to attach to which charts?

I open positions manually and would like EA to close trade for me.

Thanks in advance, right teaching leads to right believing leads to right living.    :)

there is nothing easier than to try it. theory says that this Mr. B... let's look at the numbers. Look it this way:
- buy 1 lot eurusd means that you are buying 100 000 euro and selling [depends on eurusd] something like 132 000 usd
- buy 1 lot usdchf means that you are buying 100 000 usd and selling [depends on usdchf] somehing like 120 430 chf

so you have
-32 000 usd
-120430 chf
=- 158967.60 chf

if you would buy 1 lot eurchf you would have
-159 000 chf

-- so the answer for Q2 is: what about stop losses?

Mr. B is right after all...

zolero wrote:
there is nothing easier than to try it. theory says that this Mr. B... let's look at the numbers. Look it this way: