iCustom indicator issue - arrows don't appear

Hi there,

I'm a programmer but new to MQL5. I've created an indicator that uses %R to determine buy or sell based on over-bought or over-sold stock. When I drag the indicator onto the chart I get DOWN_ARROW and UP_ARROW indicators fine. I wrote an EA to automate opening and closing positions based on that indicator using iCustom however no arrows appear on the chart. Do I need to duplicate the indicator plotting code in the EA to draw the up and down arrows when the EA discovers a BUY or SELL in the buffers? 

Maka4Tune:

Hi there,

I'm a programmer but new to MQL5. I've created an indicator that uses %R to determine buy or sell based on over-bought or over-sold stock. When I drag the indicator onto the chart I get DOWN_ARROW and UP_ARROW indicators fine. I wrote an EA to automate opening and closing positions based on that indicator using iCustom however no arrows appear on the chart. Do I need to duplicate the indicator plotting code in the EA to draw the up and down arrows when the EA discovers a BUY or SELL in the buffers? 

Yes simply load the indicator on the chart and read it by iCustom.

Reading by iCustum does not plot on the chart so you either have to have the EA plot the arrows or load the indicator onto the chart.

It defies purpose because if you run a robot to trade its usually because you do not want to look at the screen, and if you load an indicator it is usually because you do want to look at the screen.

So if you load the indicator and also run the robot i can only assume its some sort of hybrid or semi automatic type of strategy that you still want to keep an eye on.