Changing colors using #property indicator_color1 and indicator buffer on property sheet

Hello.

I am a experienced database programmer (14 years self-employed developing custom database applications) but no experience in any C++ like language.

I'm trying to use the indicator buffers in the property sheet to allow the user to change the colors of horizontal lines that are created by the indicator. I've been able to trap for when to delete and recreate the objects because the init gets fired again if the user goes into the property sheet and changes anything.

the problem is I have no idea how to capture the new values that the user changes. It seems that what I have in the init here does not work. It appears that if the user changes the color of the buffer in the indicators property sheet that it does not change the value of indicator_color1.

I've tried many different scenarios over several hours trying to figure this out.

Please help. Is this possible? What is the value/variable that is changed when the user changes the color of an indicator buffer on the property sheet?

This is a stripped down sample of code to indicate the approach I'm using.

Thank you so very much in advance for your assistance.

//--------------------------------
#property indicator_buffers 4
#property indicator_color1 Green
#property indicator_width1 1
#property indicator_style1 STYLE_DASHDOTDOT

color PivotColor=indicator_color1;
int PivotStyle=indicator_style1;
bool initFired=false;

int init()
{
initFired=true;
myLineColor=indicator_color1;
myLineStyle=indicator_style1;
}

int start()
{
if(initFired)
{
ObjectDelete("PV");

ObjectCreate("PV",OBJ_HLINE,0,0,1.900);
ObjectSet("PV",OBJPROP_COLOR,myColor);
ObjectSet("PV",OBJPROP_STYLE,myStyle);
ObjectSetText("PV","Pivot(D)",6,"Arial",myColor);
initFired=false;
}
}

I also hope so. The "indicator_color1" should change to the new value which the user set in the property sheet , then user can use the new value in the scripts.