Setting Trading Times - page 2

JimboDiggity #: As mentioned i used your code but will repost..
Where did you put the functions, that I provided a link to TWICE? (In #2 and #5).

William Roeder #:
Where did you put the functions, that I provided a link to TWICE? (In #2 and #5).

You could post the links another hundred times but yet i think its painfully obvious i'd be no nearer to understanding how to solve the issue. As far as i can tell you've posted numerous functions on those links and i have no clear idea which relate to my project, and better still all the ones I've tried seem to return a whole bunch more errors, which is why i modified my code in the first place. 

Clearly, i'm very new to coding in MQL5, and clearly i have a long way to go. If you don't want to help then its completely understood, but circle jerking me with links (that i had already mentioned i didn't understand in my FIRST reply to you), helps nobody.

JimboDiggity #:

Hi Lorentzos, thanks for your detailed explanation. Reading it however makes me think i'm perhaps looking at the back testing data incorrectly..

To be fully clear on my issue; i am trying to back test my strategy, and it needs to trade within the window 9:30am-9:45am UTC-5. I am currently in UTC+4, and my broker provides data UTC+2.

I guess the question is, when running a back test where does the data come from? Is it provided by MetaTrader in local times to the market/symbol, or does it come from my broker? I.e. to run a back test on the US30.Cash will i need to adjust the code you provided to local UTC-5 times (i.e. its provided from my broker and therefore DST will also need to be adjusted for), or can i code it as you describe and it will understand it is for the UTC-5 timezone because that's the timezone of the market (US30)?

A bit wordy but hopefully that's clear..?

Hmm yeah i see .