Using Order Scripts through an EA via Hotkeys

Hi Everyone,

I am new to coding and would like to create an EA that would work with scripts that are triggered using hotkeys.  These scripts would be placing and closing orders. I am not quite sure how the connections are to be made between the script and the EA to make that happen. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. If anyone has any codes that would assist, they would be most welcome.

Thanks in advance for your help ;).

Goldengirl9: I am new to coding and would like to create an EA that would work with scripts that are triggered using hotkeys.  These scripts would be placing and closing orders. I am not quite sure how the connections are to be made between the script and the EA to make that happen. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. If anyone has any codes that would assist, they would be most welcome.

You can apply a Hotkey to a script by right-clicking it in the "Navigator" panel and choosing "Set hotkey" on both MT4 and MT5.

Thanks Fernando for the reply.

I know how to set the hotkeys, but I want the scripts to work through an EA. Not sure how to make that connection.  

Goldengirl9 #: Thanks Fernando for the reply. I know how to set the hotkeys, but I want the scripts to work through an EA. Not sure how to make that connection.  

Why complicate things? Just make a single EA with the functionalities of the various scripts and just monitor the keystrokes from the OnChartEvent() handler in order to trigger each functionality. You can also use a panel or dashboard to click on instead of keystrokes.

Fernando Carreiro #:

Why complicate things? Just make a single EA with the functionalities of the various scripts and just monitor the keystrokes (or a dashboard or panel) in order to trigger each functionality.

Hi Fernando,

Not sure how to monitor the keystrokes as you have mentioned. Please explain.  Thanks.

Fernando Carreiro #: