Variable declaration - what does *variableName mean?

Hi,

While looking through the code generated by the EA Wizard, I came across several variable declarations in this style:

CSignalCrossMA *signal=new CSignalCrossMA;

CMoneyFixedMargin *money=new CMoneyFixedMargin;

I'm a Java (and a bit of Ruby) developer by profession so I roughly know my way about code and OO stuff, it's just that I'm not familiar with this type of *variableName type of variable declaration... ><

Would appreciate any pointers on this, thanks!

Regards. 

discrete:

Hi,

While looking through the code generated by the EA Wizard, I came across several variable declarations in this style:

CMoneyFixedMargin *money=new CMoneyFixedMargin;

I'm a Java (and a bit of Ruby) developer by profession so I roughly know my way about code and OO stuff, it's just that I'm not familiar with this type of *variableName type of variable declaration... ><

Would appreciate any pointers on this, thanks!

Regards. 

"Would appreciate any pointers on this, thanks!"

Indeed!

the asterisk is used in declaring a pointer. This is simply a variable whose declaration and parameters are done/ set programatically.

ssn:

"Would appreciate any pointers on this, thanks!"

Indeed!

the asterisk is used in declaring a pointer. This is simply a variable whose declaration and parameters are done/ set programatically.

Haha, thanks!

After some reading up on the subject, I think I've a clearer idea of pointers. However, the way it's used in the generated code is a bit different from what is mentioned on websites (e.g. this one) . In the generated code, it goes something like this: 

if(signal==NULL)
{       //--- failed
        return(-2);
}
if(!ExtExpert.InitSignal(signal))
{       //--- failed
        return(-3);
}
signal.FastPeriod(Inp_Signal_CrossMA_FastPeriod);
signal.FastShift(Inp_Signal_CrossMA_FastShift);