Confusing date functions auto updating local variables

I'm an experienced programmer of over 35 years, so the following is very odd to me. 

I'm trying to develop a function to be used in an expert adviser that would indicate when a new period is encountered.  For example, if the period of my chart is days (PERIOD_D1), I want the first tick when the time moves from one day to the next to be returned as true, otherwise false.  So in this simple case I'm simply saving DayOfYear() as a static int and comparing that value against the current DayOfYear().  But to my surprise, the static int value automatically resets to the current day and my code never sets it.  Here's the function:

bool isNewPeriod()
{
        static int previousDayOfYear = -1;

if (previousDayOfYear == -1)
        {
                // NOTE: this code is never executed, even though it should!!!
                previousDayOfYear = DayOfYear();
                Print("************** First Period ****************");
                Print("New day: ", previousDayOfYear);
                return true;
        }

int dayOfYear = DayOfYear();

switch (Period())
        {
                case PERIOD_D1:
                {
                        Print("Current day: ", dayOfYear, "    Previous day: ", previousDayOfYear);
                        if (previousDayOfYear != dayOfYear)
                        {
                                Print("####### New Period ######  Current day: ", dayOfYear, "    Previous day: ", previousDayOfYear);
                                previousDayOfYear = dayOfYear;
                                return true;
                        }
                        break;
                }
        }

return false;
}

When I execute this function within OnTick(), I never see the print statement within either if-statement.  But the value of previousDayOfYear gets updated.  How's that possible if it never enters either if-statement where the value gets set?