Read / Write to/from External Files

I am designing a robot in MetaTrader 4 that will trade 7 currencies, at a time.

I want to make a B (Buy) S (Sell) or W (Wait) decision in the Current (1 of 7) currencies based on the current signals from the BSW signals in the other 6 currencies. 

The way that I set it up, each currency has a small .txt file with only one record in it, “B” or “S” or “W”.  I have written 7 functions (one for each text file) to retrieve the current value from each of the 7 text files.

Technically, I have this coded this but there are A LOT of hits to these texts files, writing and reading simultaneously.  I think that too many many read and write accesses are conflicting.

My question is, what is the best way to do something like this? 

1.       I am using .txt (are other formats faster)

2.       Can I use error trapping to test access to a text file and if it is being block continue trying until I get the value read.

Sample code?  I am a developer but only 1 year with meta trader 4 so I am learning.

3.       I am working with Void Tick (every tick).  Would a timer format be better to control access to the text files?

Any other suggestions.

Thank you

Why are you using text files and not an array or even single variables ?

Yes a timer would be better because sometimes it takes a long time for a new tick to arrive.

I don't know how to do this, use an array.

Is there a way to get the current candle information from external  currencies (currencies that are outside my current currency (for example retrieve the

AUDUSD candle base value (and set the value to a variable in the EURUSD EA) while the EA is operating in the EURUSD currency?

I am exporting to a text file from AUDUSD so that I can import to the EURUSD EA and set to a variable for calculations in the EURUSD EA>

Is there a way to drop the text file deal, which is not reliable enough, at this point and pull the AUDUSD market values directly from the Market.