Multiple MQ4 files in an EA

I am brand new to MT4, and am required to use MT4 instead of MT5 because OANDA my broker only supports MT4.

I am a C/C++/C# expert.

Questions:

Using the MetaEditor I do not see a way to organize a set of files into a project.   It looks like EA's must be 1 file and only 1 file?   Is there a way to create a project where I would have multiple mq4 files in a single EA program?

Thanx

Bodger

Bodger: I am brand new to MT4, and am required to use MT4 instead of MT5 because OANDA my broker only supports MT4.I am a C/C++/C# expert.

Questions: Using the MetaEditor I do not see a way to organize a set of files into a project.   It looks like EA's must be 1 file and only 1 file?   Is there a way to create a project where I would have multiple mq4 files in a single EA program?

It is not very common to have EA's that span more than a single source file, but it is possible to have "Projects" (see image), but you will have to active MQL5 Storage (in your Profile) for using these Subversion-based "Projects" ...

EDIT: PS! Please note that you do not have to "activate" this to develop multi-file EA projects. You can create your own Projects File structure and develop them as you wish without "activating" it. The MQL5 Storage, just simplifies things by adding versioning and cloud-storage in order to facilitate the development of projects, especially when working in teams.

Also, please note that the MetaEditor is v5.0, as it is used for both the MetaTrader 4 and MetaTrader 5 environments.

MQL5 Storage - MetaEditor Help
MQL5 Storage - MetaEditor Help
  • www.metatrader5.com
The MQL5 Storage is a personal MQL4/MQL5 source codes repository designed for the versioned storing of files and handy project management directly from MetaEditor. The main advantages of using the MQL5 Storage: Access to the storage from any computer. You can log in MetaEditor using your MQL5.community account...

Hi Bodger,