Fractals Paint - page 3

Fractals paint is better. BUT I don't recommend using it alone for trading. I had extensive backtesting and forward-testing on it. The result was ugly. I hope being frank with you will not discourage you from playing with this indicator. I combined with various indicators in the past, and some combinations, which I don't remember, are quite satisfying.

see attached chart

Files:
ej30.gif  20 kb

Newbie member but hopefully I have something to add off the hop here.

I have been trading professionally on my own account for about 4 years. Since I started using fractals 3 years ago my percentages and confidence have increased considerably.

Couple of things that are on my mind:

1) The fractals in my MT4 give a signal after 2 bars, rather than 3 or 5. I am not bright enough to alter anything so perhaps I have a different version than you?

2) I think the repainting issue, at least in my experience shows only when the existing bar (bar #2, or 3, 5, whatever you are using as a fractal) exceeds the close of the fractal bar where the signal appears. Basically you would be stopped out. However I stare at charts 10-12 hrs a day and only see it a couple of time a week on 5 mins. Perhaps the dif timeframes are what is causing this?

I attach a chart for your consideration with some of my ramblings on it. Also a filter I use I got from somewhere I don't remember. I am sure the author is in the code. You can also use Ichimoku which I do from time to time just to let the eyes look at something different.

It would be nice if someome could code an EA based on fractal signal with manual confirmation (set as default). All that I have seen out there are fractal breakout systems, not reversals as would be preferred. Basically a buy or sell on the fractal signal appearing and up to the trader to take it or leave it.

Hope we can keep this going. I truly am a fan of fractals. I use them on the 5 mins because: