Indicators: What You See Is (not) What You Get in the code

Foreword: I am quite new to THIS programming language.

I have the impression that, for most indicators, what I see on the graph is not what I am getting in the code. So, before I might move to complex logic, I went back to the simple cases as I’d need to understand the basis with simple examples I guess.

Can someone cast some light over that? Am I getting a wrog interpretation somewhere?

I will clarify them with the simple example I am experimenting now:

To put it simple, I consider two Moving Averages, open trade (SELL) when Orange one is less than the Blue one and DX- is greater than 23.

CLOSE trade when a bar crosses the Orange line.

The (extract of) code is:

gMovingAverage_Orange = NormalizeDouble(iMA (Symbol(), 0, 10, 0, MODE_SMA, PRICE_TYPICAL, 0), Digits);gMovingAverage_Blue = NormalizeDouble(iMA (Symbol(), 0, 7, 0, MODE_SMMA, PRICE_MEDIAN, 5), Digits);gADXplus = iADX(Symbol(), PERIOD_CURRENT, 14, PRICE_CLOSE, MODE_PLUSDI, 0);gADXminus = iADX(Symbol(), PERIOD_CURRENT, 14, PRICE_CLOSE, MODE_MINUSDI, 0);// IF no order openif ( (gMovingAverage_Orange gADXplus) && (gADXminus > GA_DXminus_Threshold) ){ SELL operation; tradeOpen = 1;}// IF sell order openif (gMovingAverage < gLastTick.ask) // [DEBUG: deve prendere last bar!]{ CLOSE trade; tradeOpen = 0;}

Result is in the screenshot, which makes me wonder what the hell is going on... according to what I see it should open the trade where the bar is!

Thanks

Files:
ma_cross.png  37 kb

Hi DadeM,

One question I have is...the Blue MA appears to be 5 bars back. Is that intentional...?

Other than that...I am not able to see the ADX scale on the right...but it looks like they all satisfy the Trade Conditions for SELL.

It's possible that ADXMinus popped above 23 and dropped back immediately...but enough to trigger the Sell Trade...?

Three tests you can do to see how the Trade works: