Candle Average Strategy

First, let me say I have been a WealthLab user for many years and believe it to be the most reliable testing platform out there. I have been dabbling with Forex for about two years now and decided to try to apply the massive library of Wealthlab scripts (Chartscripts) to various currencies. The program provides a wonderful ranking system to filter out what works best among hundreds of scripts and variables.

I came upon a rather annonymous Chartscript called “Candle Average” that, when optimized for each currency, provided surprisingly good results as a long term day strategy.

http://www.wealth-lab.com/cgi-bin/WealthLab.DLL/editsystem?id=36567

It simply uses three EMA values based on High, Close, and Open, computes an average and assigns a short/long strategy to take a single position at the start of the next day. Exits are either time-based or profit target. I played around with stoploss but found it didn’t substantially help the drawdown.

I modified the script for optimization and back tested daily data from July 1998 to present and have posted just the Euro tests below. Win ratio is about 80% at worst and over 90% at best. I’m a Wealthlab programmer and not too proficient with MQ4. I’m looking to possibly run this in MQ4 so forward testing and refinement can be done. It looks like it might easily be adapted to MQ4 for demo testing while I continue to optimize in Wealthlab – since optimization in Metatrader is very inefficient. So if there are any MQ4 programmers out there who would like to experiment with me and the forum, let me know.

In closing, it appears to show a profit curve that everyone wants – a nice somewhat linear growth with no large spikes. I imagine this method might can be improved and adapted to different timeframes. On paper, it looks promising anyway!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------