Price action

Hi, Community,

I'm very new to coding but have been trading for sometime. My question is can a custom indicator be created that would create a stop loss off the previous candles data?

If so can you pls push me in the right direction.

Thank you EJ

You'll need to know how to query all open orders and select the order from the order pool that you want to set the stoploss for. Functons to do this:

OrdersTotal() <- returns the amount of open orders in total. I.E., if there are 5 open orders, it'll return the number 5.
OrderSelect() <- grabs an order from the order pool. It returns True or False depending on whether the order was retrieved successfully.

Once an order is selected, you can use some filters, such as OrderSymbol(), OrderTicket(), or OrderMagicNumber(), using an if statement to see if it's the one you're looking for.

So here's what you'll have so far

for (int x=0; x < OrdersTotal(); x++){
   if (OrderSelect(x, SELECT_BY_POS, MODE_TRADES)){
      if (OrderSymbol() == Symbol()){
         <do stuff>
      }
}

Orders in the order pool start from 0. So if there are 5 orders open, the orders are 0-4, with 0 being the oldest order and 4 being the newest.

^ the above code cycles through all open orders and checks to see if the order is from the market (symbol) that the EA / Script is currently running on.

Once the order that you want is selected, you'll need to modify it. Function to do this:

OrderModify()

OrderModify() requires that you provide the ticket # and entry price of the order. This is already stored in memory once you use OrderSelect(), so all you need to is call it up using:

OrderTicket()
OrderPrice()

To get information from a candle, you'll need to know that the current open candle is 0. The candle before that (the most recently closed candle) is 1. The one before that is 2, and so on and so forth.