PLEASE HELP!

I hope this will be easy question for some of you as I'm only a newbie with Forex.  I don't know why this occurred.  It may be because I attempted to debug a script file. 

A few weeks ago I was debugging with MetaEditor (Build 1526), ...

1 - I "Compiled" the code.  Generated no errors or warnings.  Everything looked good.  I left clicked on the top icon bar's "Run" button.  At this point, MetaTrader (Build 1045) was displayed.  I wasn't surprised as it was expected. 

2 - I left clicked the MetaTrader and moved the mouse to the EURUSD currency.  The square icon appeared under the mouse pointer just as expected.  Nothing new.  After I released it I waited until for the next bar.  Nothing was unique. 

3 - Yet, shortly after the next bar appeared and MetaEditor once more displayed itself at the pre-selected breakpoint, as expected.  I left clicked over the "Step Into" icon.  The highlighted line progressed just as usual.  Everything looked good. 

4 - However, … a moment later (actually about 10 seconds) the highlighted line returned to the normal color like all the other lines!  I looked up and I noticed the "Step Into" icon was now grayed out!  It no longer was a valid option to choose! 

What happened?  ‌And how can I remove or reset ME to prevent this from happening again? Who should I talk to about this?  ‌

‌To correct this:

1 - ‌I've shutdown, re-started, and tried everything again.  Nothing changed as I saw the same results. 

2 - I tested this process with another EA and I got the same results.  Once more I got the same exact results!

3 - I even tried updating the the latest version of MQL4.  Once again ... the same results! 

4 - Yet, I have not deleted the entire application and installed it onto a another hard drive.  Would that make a difference? 

As it stands now, my version of ME is useless without "Step Into". 

Thanks in advance

Documentation on MQL5: Chart Operations / ChartNext
Documentation on MQL5: Chart Operations / ChartNext