Download MetaTrader 5
To add comments, please log in or register
Copy the deals of successful traders. Subscribe to signals!
all-four-inches
all-four-inches 2015.01.16 06:57 

I'm fairly new to EA coding but i am completely stumpped here....

I have no errors in my code, no syntax errors, nothing. EA works as it should perfectly when i attach to a demo account forward testing. But it does nothing in the strategy tester!

I have tried other EAs (not built by me) in the strategy tester with the same settings, dates, etc and all of them work fine. I dont know why mine does nothing, even alerts dont show up.

The journal shows no errors at all.

I am thinking it might have something to do with how i open trades in the EA because its based on time. for example i have something like:

hour=TimeHour(Time[0])

if(hour+GMT_offset==13)
{
do something.....
}

could this cause problems in the strategy tester? i dont know... but i have tried another EA that uses a timed based entry similar to mine and that one runs perfect in the strategy tester....im lost. I was thinking maybe the strategy tester is pulling the time from the current live server instead of the 'simulated' time in the strategy tester. But i doubt thats the issue....

I have also just quickly made another EA almost identical to the other one but i removed the time based part and it worked in the strategy tester.... whats going on here???

Carl Schreiber
Carl Schreiber 2015.01.16 08:41  
I would at first start the tester in visual mode with the EA and the used indiactors to look for patterns where the EA - as I think - should buy or sell and there I check all the values... Time, prices, indicators,...
all-four-inches
all-four-inches 2015.01.18 07:24  
gooly:
I would at first start the tester in visual mode with the EA and the used indiactors to look for patterns where the EA - as I think - should buy or sell and there I check all the values... Time, prices, indicators,...