Auto trading on MT4

Hi guys,

I'm new to all this, and was wondering if someone could help me understand how this works. I have installed MT4 and opened a demo account with a broker (AAAfx) a few weeks ago. I have done some trading with my demo account to get the gist of it. I was wondering if it is possible to run some sort of script on MT4 that executes trades on your behalf based on a set of rules that you define? I'm guessing this is what MQL language is all about, right? Are there scripts available for free download that I can try out to see how they work? Are these scripts "fire-and-forget" or do they need some kind of monitoring/intervention?

Thanks for your time!

Alex

norad:

Hi guys,

I'm new to all this, and was wondering if someone could help me understand how this works. I have installed MT4 and opened a demo account with a broker (AAAfx) a few weeks ago. I have done some trading with my demo account to get the gist of it. I was wondering if it is possible to run some sort of script on MT4 that executes trades on your behalf based on a set of rules that you define? I'm guessing this is what MQL language is all about, right? Are there scripts available for free download that I can try out to see how they work? Are these scripts "fire-and-forget" or do they need some kind of monitoring/intervention?

Thanks for your time!

Alex

I was wondering if it is possible to run some sort of script on MT4 that executes trades on your behalf based on a set of rules that you define?

Yes. thats what mql language is all about. Actually its roots lies in semi-automation like indicators manual traders use, or scripts which performs complex/routine calculations. The robot concept is relatively new and Imo there are still a huge majority of manual traders over ea traders.

Are there scripts available for free download that I can try out to see how they work?

Yes. the Code Base.

Are these scripts "fire-and-forget" or do they need some kind of monitoring/intervention?