Detect MetaTrader 4 Brokers located on system (C#)

Hi,

Background
I'm a C# developer, working for my employer to build an Excel Add-in having MT4 functionalities.
As a first step I've implemented most of the trading functions and some other important ones, as Excel UDFs and now I can do the trading stuff by using these functions from Excel.

Now as a next step, I'm building an Excel Ribbon utilizing those UDFs, for providing ease-of-use.

What I need to figure out:
>I want to provide a Wizard in the ribbon which can detect all the MetaTrader 4 Brokers installed on the system and get their credentials e.g. Broker name, User, Password etc into the excel cells so that user don't have to enter them manually for all the brokers present on the computer. How can I detect all the MetaTrader 4 Brokers installed on the system and get their credentials?

there's an Excel Add-in available, named MexcelTrader, which does this. here's the video

please guide how can I do this.

thanks

Regards,

Zeeshan

My guess is, MT4 doesn't know the broker name (as defined by AccountCompany() and/or TerminalCompany() ) unless it is connected to the server.

In the video, the "broker" actually looks like a server domain, so maybe you can find that in a file somewhere.

But how did they get account number and balance to Excel?

I'm pretty sure the only way to do it is to have each instance of MT4 open, and running an indicator that passes the broker name (actually server), account number, balance etc. Most of the commands you would need are here

EDIT: If MT4 has connected at least once to the server, the server name can be found in the history folder, but beware that different brokers sometimes use that same servers.

Hi,

I've inspected how it detects the brokers installed on the system.