Global variable being reset to zero after function call. why?

I'll start by saying, I'm very new to programming and mql4 with limited experience, but am doing my best to read through documentation and practice implementing simple strategies to improve.

Unfortunately, I've run into a snag with an EA that I have written. I declare a global variable outside of any functions (not local machine global, just program global). The main program start() then calls a function that I have written to open an order (type void). Within that function, I utilize the global variable declared before, as it calculates a value that I want to later use for a trailing stop. The problem is that as soon as the program returns to the main from the function, the global variable is reset to zero. I have printed the variable just before returning and also just after returning and the value changes from what it should be before, to zero after.

Any ideas? I have done this in other programs without any problem, but for some reason this one is acting differently and I can't pinpoint why.

I think I know of a workaround...I could change the function from void to double and return the value that I need that way. What is confusing me, is the fact that I actually use and change other global variables within the same function and they are not reverting to zero in the same manner. I'm more asking, why one variable would do that and another would not, so I can avoid making this mistake in the future and have a better understanding.

Thanks in advance.

irvinfitness:

I'll start by saying, I'm very new to programming and mql4 with limited experience, but am doing my best to read through documentation and practice implementing simple strategies to improve.