if using ATR threshold, EA wont enter buy/sell position

Hi folks!

As a newbie I ran through the code from this awesome article https://www.mql5.com/en/articles/100

After adding some mods I came to a problem on which I can't find a solution.

My modification to the code was: Instead of using ADX volatility line with a threshold Adx_Min, I used ATR as a volatility indicator and set a threshold as certain position for ATR's line (a condition when ATR crosses certain level).

When debugging I normally received true/false out of my conditions, but when testing the EA in Strategy Tester, it does not ever enter buy/sell position!

Any ideas what to do? I would appreciate some help!

Thanx

Step-By-Step Guide to writing an Expert Advisor in MQL5 for Beginners
Step-By-Step Guide to writing an Expert Advisor in MQL5 for Beginners
  • Samuel
  • www.mql5.com
The Expert Advisors programming in MQL5 is simple, and you can learn it easy. In this step by step guide, you will see the basic steps required in writing a simple Expert Advisor based on a developed trading strategy. The structure of an Expert Advisor, the use of built-in technical indicators and trading functions, the details of the Debug mode and use of the Strategy Tester are presented.

skritney:

Thanx

Show your code.

skritney:

Hi folks!

As a newbie I ran through the code from this awesome article https://www.mql5.com/en/articles/100

After adding some mods I came to a problem on which I can't find a solution.

My modification to the code was: Instead of using ADX volatility line with a threshold Adx_Min, I used ATR as a volatility indicator and set a threshold as certain position for ATR's line (a condition when ATR crosses certain level).

When debugging I normally received true/false out of my conditions, but when testing the EA in Strategy Tester, it does not ever enter buy/sell position!

Thanx