does description slow an indicator down?

Hello Forum, possibly my most ignorant question, but then again I don't know!

As a newbie I find myself putting a lot of descriptive text in my code, to remind me of what I am trying to do and allow me to come back to rework errors etc

In the more complex work, this might be 100 or 200 lines of description, maybe more !!

Just thought I should ask whether this has any affect on the speed of the indicator, when attached to a chart?

Feeling a bit exposed asking this one, but would like to know whether I should have 2 indicators one with the descriptive text for coding and one without descriptive text for actual use on charts

thanks as always

dave

pullend:

Hello Forum, possibly my most ignorant question, but then again I don't know!

As a newbie I find myself putting a lot of descriptive text in my code, to remind me of what I am trying to do and allow me to come back to rework errors etc

In the more complex work, this might be 100 or 200 lines of description, maybe more !!

Just thought I should ask whether this has any affect on the speed of the indicator, when attached to a chart?

Feeling a bit exposed asking this one, but would like to know whether I should have 2 indicators one with the descriptive text for coding and one without descriptive text for actual use on charts

thanks as always

dave

You mean comment like this :

/*
this is ...
... a multiline ...
... comment.
*/

// this is single line comment

Then the answer is no - it's not slowing down the CI, EA or Script. In compiled code or .ex4, all comments is deleted.

Most likely the calculation in your CI, is the one that causing your CI to slow down, like for example, in some cases, some loop within loop can cause a slow down

1. phi.nuts: Most likely the calculation in your CI, is the one that causing your CI to slow down, like for example, in some cases, some loop within loop can cause a slow down