Problem with iHighest

Hello there!

I'm quite new to this language, but not new to programming at all. And I really like the language! :)

But now I got a problem...I hope you can help me!

high20 = High[iHighest(NULL,PERIOD_D1,MODE_HIGH,20,0)];

What I expect from this snippet: I returns me the highest value of the stock during the last 20 days, regardless of the way the chart is displayed.

But: It works perfectly, when the chart is set to D1. Whenever I switch the periodicity (e.g. to H4), the value of "high20" switches too, I'd say to some random number. Not to a value which would make sense to me.

Any help is appreciated! Thanks! :)

It was a good first effort. Just use iHigh instead of High. High is the high array for the current chart.

https://docs.mql4.com/predefined/variables/high

Thank you for your help! It looks like its what I was looking for. But how would you exactly write that?

If I take iHigh by itself, I guess I'm not able to look in multiple bars, just 1 at a time. Or is there a possibility to use iHigh together with iHighest?

Thanks!

GoingForGold:

Thank you for your help! It looks like its what I was looking for. But how would you exactly write that?

If I take iHigh by itself, I guess I'm not able to look in multiple bars, just 1 at a time. Or is there a possibility to use iHigh together with iHighest?

Oh come on, you are already using High with iHighest and you now know you need to use iHigh instead of High. Do you really need me to write it for you? Asking questions is not a substitute for thinking yourself. If you get really stuck that is a different matter.

Yeah, my problem is, High[] is a predifined variable. So I can insert in the [] brackets whatever i want, for example iHighest(). But iHigh() is a function. And obviously I can't use a function within a function. And so I have really no clue how to write that.