Detailed explanation of iCustom - page 2

NewCoder47:

Thanks for that RaptorUK, however it is the actual coding that I am having difficulties with. I am very new to MQL4, and have only been doing it a couple of months, and am still learning - so I am needing a simple explanation of the coding and how to set it up in the indicator.

Didn't you read what I wrote ? " No changes are needed to the Indicators . . . . the EA simply accesses the buffers it needs at the shift values it needs. "

dabbler:
No you can't. I just tried it. It won't compile if you leave out one of the parameters by just leaving an empty place between the commas.
I knew I should have correct the last statement. Take-out the comma's for the parameters.

ubzen:
I knew I should have correct the last statement. Take-out the comma's for the parameters.

I just complied this Indicator as TOR.mqh within my Indicator Folder. Then I wrote the following Code in the Expert Folder.

void start(){
    iCustom(Symbol(),0,"TOR",0,1);
}
It complied fine for me without passing any parameters.

ubzen:

I just complied this Indicator as TOR.mqh within my Indicator Folder. Then I wrote the following Code in the Expert Folder.

It compiled fine for me without passing any parameters.
But does it actually work?

dabbler:
But does it actually work?
Yes. All the time. I'm talking about Extern Values. And I'm guessing you're talking about Buffers.

Thanks for your help guys, Ill have a look tomorrow night and see what I can figure out.

Thanks

Hey Guys. I still seem to be having some difficulty.

Here is the code, in the indicator ( I Have not changed anything in the indicator), I am showing what I think is the relevant part. Please note that these do not follow each other in the indicator, there is lots more that I have stripped.

//---- indicator buffers
double     STDBuffer[];
double     stddevma[];

//---- macd counted in the 1-st buffer
  for(int i=limit-1; i>=0; i--){