mql4 newbie - need help understanding this - thank you in advance!

I'm a newbie at mql4 so bare with me.

I've been playing with a simple mql4 indicator file and I have a question. First of all let me say that I prefer longer trading timeframes such as the H1 timeframe. As I understand it you have the predefined "Bars" variable and such which are required when looping through the display bars(Candles) on a given chart window. As I see the loop is fairly standard on many indicators. Since I am using the H1 timeframe each new candle is drawn every hour of course, however if I am looking to alert off of a simple crossover of 2 MA's this could happen at any time prior to the current candles close. I've noticed on my simple indicator that I don't get any alerts until the current candle actually closes. How would I code it to send my alert at the moment the crossover occurs rather than at the close of the current candle? I've noticed on some EA's they don't use loops but instead calculate the trigger alert off of a simple crossover formula with the shift set to zero. Bottom line is that I want to trigger my alert the moment it happens as opposed to when the current candle closes. Most of the code below was copied directly from a few mq4 files.

int start()

{

int counter, // Bar index

int Counted_bars; // Number of counted bars

Counted_bars=IndicatorCounted(); // Number of counted bars

i=Bars-Counted_bars-1; // Index of the first uncounted

while(i>=0) // Loop for uncounted bars

{

RSIpl_now = iCustom(NULL,0,"TDI Red Green",13,0,34,2,0,7,0,4,i);

RSIpl_prev = iCustom(NULL,0,"TDI Red Green",13,0,34,2,0,7,0,4,i+1);

RSIpl_after = iCustom(NULL,0,"TDI Red Green",13,0,34,2,0,7,0,4,i-1);

RSItsl_now = iCustom(NULL,0,"TDI Red Green",13,0,34,2,0,7,0,5,i);

RSItsl_prev = iCustom(NULL,0,"TDI Red Green",13,0,34,2,0,7,0,5,i+1);

RSItsl_after = iCustom(NULL,0,"TDI Red Green",13,0,34,2,0,7,0,5,i-1);