modifying indicators, what is the etiquette?

I am new to the forum and recently discovered the excellent code base and custom indicators.

Very impressed by the work of others and willingness to share, but as I am completely new to this and have no previous experience in programming, I was wondering what the correct approach is, or etiquette to be followed if I want to modify another person's custom indicator.

Specifically:

I like the simplicity of the MA Angle Tony:(https://www.mql5.com/en/code/8447) an indicator which gives you a simple visual clue to whether a moving ave is angled up (green histogram above axis) or down (red histogram below axis).

and I want to adapt this indicator to give a similar visual clue for the Oscillator of moving average (OsMA)so that I can see at a glance if the OsMA is positively or negatively sloped, as opposed to reading the values from the data window.

Is this approach OK? and how does one reference the original work?

Regards

Dave

(Note I am attempting to do this by logic and substitution in the absence of proper MQ4 knowledge, with limited success so far, although the amended indicator will compile without error, but not plot the way I hoped. Thought I should get the above answers before I tried further variations)

There is no etiquette in the mql4 community. This is the most anarchic "community" I have ever witnessed, there is no moral, there is no ethics, not even something like a thieves' honor or anything like that.

7zip, don't you think you are painting with a rather large brush here? Every community has its members who are in good-standing and those who are not. At best it is fair to say that the mql4 community is no less diverse than society itself, we have our scammers, we have our criminals, but to claim that is all that the community is composed of does a disservice to those members who are genuine and legitimate...both in their pursuit of acquiring assistance as well as their pursuit of helping others.