Conveting Mq4 files to Ex4 Files

How do I convert Mq4 files into Ex4 files so I can run the Ex4 file as an EA?

Click compile

V

Viffer:

Click compile

V

I am new at this so I need it explained a little bit more. I did hit compile and it came up with 0 errors but I don't know how to then convert it to and EX4 file.

You type text into an MQ4 source code file.

You offer that source code to the Compiler.

The compiler strips out everything it considers irrelevant, sometimes rearranges the logic a little,

it creates a file that can be executed by MT4 with the same name a the source file and puts the extension EX4 on it.

ewerts:

I am new at this so I need it explained a little bit more. I did hit compile and it came up with 0 errors but I don't know how to then convert it to and EX4 file.

Is done - look in your MetaTrader\experts folder if it was an EA

Look in MetaTrader\experts\indicators folder if it was an indicator

-BB-

phy:

You type text into an MQ4 source code file.

You offer that source code to the Compiler.

The compiler strips out everything it considers irrelevant, sometimes rearranges the logic a little,

it creates a file that can be executed by MT4 with the same name a the source file and puts the extension EX4 on it.

where do you type (text) in Mq4 file?

BarrowBoy:

Is done - look in your MetaTrader\experts folder if it was an EA

Look in MetaTrader\experts\indicators folder if it was an indicator

-BB-

It did not convert it to an Ex4 file.

Please tell us EXACTLY what you have done, step by step.

What you've typed in as the content of the .mq4 file.

What you've done subsequently.

Where you've looked for the .ex4 file.

CB