Stupidly Good EA - worthless and I don't know what it is doing - page 3

I want to raise an alternative explanation (which I have privately discussed with phillip in the past) and would appreciate opinions - maybe the platform doesn't offer Tick data capabilities (history-center/tester) because MT4 brokers don't own this data...? Maybe they just can't give it away because of legal issues... Perhaps the contract they have with their liquidity providers might state that they can't give that data away?

Edit: this is just a theory... I have no actual knowledge of this.

gordon:

I want to raise an alternative explanation (which I have privately discussed with phillip in the past) and would appreciate opinions - maybe the platform doesn't offer Tick data capabilities (history-center/tester) because MT4 brokers don't own this data...? Maybe they just can't give it away because of legal issues... Perhaps the contract they have with their liquidity providers might state that they can't give that data away?

That's definitely a possibility. Though I still think that phillip may be underestimating the impact of having to deal with (store, download, process etc) tick data. For reference, Hotspot's data FAQ says "A limit of 4 months for BBO, 15 days for SNP, and 5 days for TKS has been put in place. This limit has been set to prevent users from creating files larger than 4GB". Admittedly Hotspot BBO data is more heavyweight than what MT4 would require for "tick data", but it's still a major potential burden.

Full disclosure - I really don't care about tick data. I avoid it for a lot of reasons.

My interest for engaging in the "why no tick data" conversations that sporadically crop up is more from the perspective of "why is this choice made for me, given the sundry list of other resource consuming choices I have the flexibility to choose from"?

The logic is not self-consistent and that bothers me.