Turning off Logs

Is it possible to turn off the logging option with MT4?

My EAs and indicators log so much garbage data, i would like to turn it off.

c0d3 wrote >>

Is it possible to turn off the logging option with MT4?

My EAs and indicators log so much garbage data, i would like to turn it off.

I don't know if there is any better way to do it, but I just right click and delete log files and start recording new logs. If there is something I really want to review, just select all, copy and paste in MS Word and save in another folder. It works for me, hope it helps.

1121048:

I don't know if there is any better way to do it, but I just right click and delete log files and start recording new logs. If there is something I really want to review, just select all, copy and paste in MS Word and save in another folder. It works for me, hope it helps.

Elo. I'm a programmer who is idling. I'm writing MQL4 scripts. Here is my little log mechanism that I hope you find useful. Put it into an include file.

Deleting log files

-------------------

First up, if you start MT4 from the command line you can write a batch file to do that and inside the batch file you can get it to remove all the log files.

I hate using DOS - it is so clumsy. My Cygwin command looks something like "find '/e/program files/metatrader' -iname '*.log' -exec rm -f {} \;".

Reducing the garbage

-------------------------

I call this include file "mcblog.mqh". You have to put it into the "include" directory and "#include" it in your EA.

Then you can log stuff this way, and use the "verbosity" mechanism to limit the garbage that collects in your log file.

log(TYP_LOG_INFO, sMyName, Time[g_nBarStart], "nNewStopLoss=" + nNewStopLoss);

static int TYP_LOG_FATAL = 1;
static int TYP_LOG_ERROR = 3;
static int TYP_LOG_WARNING = 5;
static int TYP_LOG_INFO = 7;
static int TYP_LOG_DEBUG = 9;
extern int g_nLogVerbosity = 10;

string appendWithSeparator(string sMessage, string sItem, string sSeparator)
{