Programming in Metatrader 5 Newbies

Hi all,

I have been doing trading for a while and I am pretty sure I got a good technique. I used to trade with another platform. With no robots capabality.

Recently I discovered MT5 and I am interested to make a robot which can apply my knowledge.

Therefore, I have a clear idea how to trade, but no idea about MT5 programming. I would like to know if there is any way to learn programming quickly. I have seen all the MT5 material here, but it looks it would take months. How long do you think it coult take?

Anyone who faced the same problem? Learning material used? 

Many thanks in advance.

Jordi 

Hi. I have the same problem. I found some resources on the internet, but none for complete novices, who have no prior experience in programming. After some time trying to learn via examples I decided to hire a coder, because it saves me time (and time is really valuable to me). I have no idea how to start learning to programme. I even considered placing a new Job offer for someone to instruct me on the basics. What do you think. Is this something you would consider (for cost sharing).

Here is one of articles for learning MQL5 : https://www.mql5.com/en/articles/496
A Quick Start Or a Short Guide for Beginners
A Quick Start Or a Short Guide for Beginners
  • Dmitriy Parfenovich
  • www.mql5.com
Hello dear reader! In this article, I will try to explain and show you how you can easily and quickly get the hang of the principles of creating Expert Advisors, working with indicators, etc. It is beginner-oriented and will not feature any difficult or abstruse examples.

jordiqqq:

Hi all,

I have been doing trading for a while and I am pretty sure I got a good technique. I used to trade with another platform. With no robots capabality.

Recently I discovered MT5 and I am interested to make a robot which can apply my knowledge.