NewTick event per period on live trading, possible?

Hi,

I'm a programmer new to MQL and to this forum.  Right now I'm trying to trigger the NewTick event for an Expert Advisor attached to a chart on "open prices only" mode --which ticks for every new period for the chosen time-frame (M1, M5, M15, ...)-- so I can make use of the OnTick() function to communicate the OHLC values every -say- hour.

I know this is available when using the Strategy Tester (see Testing Trading Strategies > Ticks Generation Mode; which by the way is poorly documented on the MetaTrader 5 doc, where it says one should set the Model parameter accordingly on the Config/common.ini file, when it actuality it is the TicksMode param on Config/terminal.ini); so I was wondering if it is possible to trigger the NewTick event on every tick/1 minut OHLC/open prices on a live (eg, not testing) EA?

I've been reading throughout the documentation and couldn't figure it out, thanks in advance for any possible remark.

--

Luero 

Lucero:

Hi,

I'm a programmer new to MQL and to this forum.  Right now I'm trying to trigger the NewTick event for an Expert Advisor attached to a chart on "open prices only" mode --which ticks for every new period for the chosen time-frame (M1, M5, M15, ...)-- so I can make use of the OnTick() function to communicate the OHLC values every -say- hour.

I know this is available when using the Strategy Tester (see Testing Trading Strategies > Ticks Generation Mode; which by the way is poorly documented on the MetaTrader 5 doc, where it says one should set the Model parameter accordingly on the Config/common.ini file, when it actuality it is the TicksMode param on Config/terminal.ini); so I was wondering if it is possible to trigger the NewTick event on every tick/1 minut OHLC/open prices on a live (eg, not testing) EA?

I've been reading throughout the documentation and couldn't figure it out, thanks in advance for any possible remark.

--

Luero 

Hi Lucero,