Breakout Trading Strategy

Hello forum, good day.

I'm still new to trading and MQL. I'm starting to make a Breakout EA and have a few questions regarding this trading strategy. Your help will be much appreciated!

1. What is the best number of bars to look back in order to determine the Support and Resistance levels? Or what is the best method to determine this highest/lowest levels for the breakout range?

2. How many points should be considered in order to get the Support, Resistance and trend lines? I guess that for the Support and Resistance with 1 point is enough, but don't know if for the trend lines I should use 2 or 3.

3. What indicators could be used in order to detect false breakouts? I've seen there is a Box Breakout indicator that uses a 5 pip range or so on top/bottom of the Resistance/Support. Is this enough to prevent false breakouts? Should I wait to see if the previous bar closes on top/bottom of the Resistance/Support to place an order?

4. Should this strategy be used with Market or Stop Orders? Or it doesn't matter which one is used?

5. What is the best timeframe for this strategy? I've seen one of the most used is H1.

6. What other signal could be used to close a trade besides the price breaking a trend line?

Best regards and thank you in advance,

Gerardo 

Hi Gerardo,

I'm a breakout trader, but not really good one :) but usually i can get profit (and loss) about 30 pips for couple hours, less than a day.

I don't use number of bars to determine Support, Resistance.
R/S level can be anywhere, it can be Pivot, Daily Open Price, Yesterday High-Low, Trend Channel Lines, Fibo level, etc... and it can be changed every hours.

I don't understand about point, what point?

To detect false breakout, I use smaller TimeFrame. The indicator is standard Stochastic.
I don't look into breakout box anymore, like PANCA EAGLE indicator or else, it just doesn't work for me.

I don't use Stop Order, but I strict with TP 50 - SL 40 or 50