Help: array out of range, though in do...while loop I have tried to check error and exit - page 3

Alain Verleyen #:
Why were you thinking it's not an option to “find out how much you need to copy and copy exactly this amount” ?

Because I don’t remember a single case where I knew the exact date, but did not know the number of bars. I don't know what might cause the situation where you know the exact date before copying the bars. Usually the date is unknown to me too😄

Perhaps this is due to the fact that I have little experience with MT5...

Vladislav Boyko #:
Perhaps this is due to the fact that I have little experience with MT5...

That's why I asked my question. I have not yet decided on the approach to use in MT5 for copying quotes. In MT4 I have direct access to the chart without having to copy anything or allocate memory.

I'm still wondering which approach would be best for MT5. When I don’t know in advance exactly how many bars I will need (to find some “last signal,” for example).

• copy with each tick the last few thousand bars “with a margin”;
  • store snapshot;
  • try to process the entire chart once after launch, caching the processing result, and then work only with the 2 newest bars, updating the cached results

Alain Verleyen #:
iBarShift() is not returning incorrect values. I have never seen it and I used it very intensively.

Hi @Alain Verleyen

Thanks for your reply.

What I meant to say was that iTime(Symbol,HigherTimeFrame,iBarShift(Symbol,LowerTimeFrame)) was returning 1970.01.00 00:00, which I think is the start date of data series and caused by iBarShift returning -1 value.

I even tried to use following function and avoid getting return value as -1, but failed to get desired results.

int CAccessTimeseries::getBarShift(ENUM_TIMEFRAMES timeframe,datetime time, bool exact=false) {

string vMethod = "[" + mSymbol + "," + EnumToString(timeframe) + "] " + __FUNCTION__;

int attempt  = 0;
                int barShift = 0;
                do{