good practice with OnCalculate() function

Hi

I'm still a beginner, and I'm just getting to grips with MQL5's native functions,

for example, when I need to call native functions like iMA, should I call the Buffer from the OnCalculate() function? 

And sorry if my question is silly, that's okay it's a question.

If you have any links to good or bad practices of this function it might help me,
Thanks in advance for all your insights 🙂

ZeroCafeine:

Hi

I'm still a beginner, and I'm just getting to grips with MQL5's native functions,

for example, when I need to call native functions like iMA, should I call the Buffer from the OnCalculate() function? 

And sorry if my question is silly, that's okay it's a question.

If you have any links to good or bad practices of this function it might help me,
Thanks in advance for all your insights 🙂

Good practices start by using the correct wording and clear question.

What do you mean by "call the Buffer" ? I guess you mean using CopyBuffer() ?

If yes, then it's nothing related to good or bad practice, you just call it when you need it. If not, then please clarify.

ZeroCafeinefor example, when I need to call native functions like iMA, should I call the Buffer from the OnCalculate() function? 

To supplement Alain's post above ... Is this a question about coding an EA or coding an Indicator?

OnCalculate() is an event handler used only in Indicators, not EAs.

Documentation on MQL5: Event Handling / OnCalculate
Documentation on MQL5: Event Handling / OnCalculate
  • www.mql5.com
OnCalculate - Event Handling - MQL5 Reference - Reference on algorithmic/automated trading language for MetaTrader 5

tks you @ Fernando Carreiro, So if I've understood correctly, if I'm using EA then I'll never need to call the OnCalculate() function ?

Thank you @Alain Verleyen for taking the time to rephrase my question, 

Alain Verleyen #:
What do you mean by "call the Buffer" ? I guess you mean using CopyBuffer() ?