What does it mean to have an .ex5 file?

Hi guys!

I'm a bit new to the MT5 system and would like your help.

I've recently come across a free indicator on the library and really enjoyed it. I've saved the .ex5 file because I want to have it in case it disappears from the indicators library.

My question is: having this .ex5 file would still make it appear on my charts even if, by any chance, the indicator itself is removed from library, by its original maker?

Thank you in advance!

Jessica: I'm a bit new to the MT5 system and would like your help. I've recently come across a free indicator on the library and really enjoyed it. I've saved the .ex5 file because I want to have it in case it disappears from the indicators library. My question is: having this .ex5 file would still make it appear on my charts even if, by any chance, the indicator itself is removed from library, by its original maker? Thank you in advance!

What is your definition of "library"?

Is it the CodeBase? Is it the Market?

What exactly are you referring to?

Fernando Carreiro #:

What is your definition of "library"?

Is it the CodeBase? Is it the Market?

What exactly are you referring to?

Hi Fernando,

It would be the Market (https://www.mql5.com/en/market/mt5/indicator).

MQL5 Market: Indicators
MQL5 Market: Indicators
  • www.mql5.com
A Market of Applications for the MetaTrader 5 and MetaTrader 4

Jessica #: Hi Fernando, It would be the Market (https://www.mql5.com/en/market/mt5/indicator).

Then yes, a backup is always a good ideia, but even if the author removes the product, it will still be available to you in the Purchases section.

However, that backup will not be functional on a different computer or if your current computer undergoes hardware changes or major windows updates. When that happens you will need to reactivate it again and lose an activation count.

Fernando Carreiro #: