Expert Advisor not work on Strategy Tester

Hi lovely community :)

I'm having some issues with Strategy Tester and really need a hand.

I downloaded the chart history of the last 6 months and exported it to my MetaTrader 4

But when I start the strategy tester, the chart starts to move and the Expert Advisor does not open any trades.

what should I do ? to fix the problem?

Thanks so much in advance 🧡 . I'm fairly new to this and of course backtesting is something I really need to work...

Mahdi Sarlak

Mahdi Sarlak:

Hi lovely community :)

I'm having some issues with Strategy Tester and really need a hand.

I downloaded the chart history of the last 6 months and exported it to my MetaTrader 4

But when I start the strategy tester, the chart starts to move and the Expert Advisor does not open any trades.

what should I do ? to fix the problem?

Thanks so much in advance 🧡 . I'm fairly new to this and of course backtesting is something I really need to work...

Mahdi Sarlak

Please check this post. It's similar problem as yours

Expert Advisor not returning any results in Strategy Tester | MT4 - Strategy Tester - MQL4 and MetaTrader 4 - MQL4 programming forum (mql5.com)
Expert Advisor not returning any results in Strategy Tester | MT4
Expert Advisor not returning any results in Strategy Tester | MT4
  • www.mql5.com
Hi lovely community :) I'm having some issues with Strategy Tester and really need a hand...

My problem is different, my code has no problems

No expert works on my metatrader

Mahdi Sarlak #:
My problem is different, my code has no problems

If EA does not work in MT4 strategy tester so it is the bug in EA or data/quotes is not enough.

You can try to backtest MACD Sample EA which is standard EA in MT4 (Navigator - Expert Advisors - MACD Sample EA).
And there is one thread about how to download data/quotes for MT4 for backtesting:

How to prepare MT4 for backtesting/trading with some pair: post