mql5 help: for-loop for finding swing highs

Hi there! 

I was playing around programming some EAs that work with swing highs/lows. The way i detect swing highs/lows is (obviously) through the iHighest function. Now: I want to implement a user input lookback period, for example 20 bars, so that the EA finds the highest from the last 20 bars. Also works without problem. Now, the problem that comes up though, if the current bar is the highest over the lookback period, i dont want it to be detected. The starting shift of the iHighest function (the last parameter of the function) also doesnt work, since, if you get more than 5 bullish bars in a row the highest detected bar would be lower than the current market price. What I instead would like to do, is to increase the lookback period in that case in 5-bar-steps until there is a new (higher) swing high detected. and since im not a professional programmer, im really struggeling with the loop structure necessary for that, so i figured someone in here might be able to help. This is what i got so far, however i get an "expression has no effect" error in the editor: (also, this is only the findHigh function ripped out of the main EA for testing/diagnostic purposes)

input int lookbackPeriod = 20;

void OnTick(){

findHigh();

}

double high = 0;

int highestBar = 0;

int lookbackTotal = lookbackPeriod;

double findHigh(){

if(iHighest(_Symbol,PERIOD_CURRENT,MODE_HIGH,lookbackPeriod,0) >= 5){

highestBar = iHighest(_Symbol,PERIOD_CURRENT,MODE_HIGH,lookbackPeriod,0);

high = iHigh(_Symbol,PERIOD_CURRENT,highestBar);

Print(" ",highestBar);

return high;

}

else 

while(iHighest(_Symbol,PERIOD_CURRENT,MODE_HIGH,lookbackTotal,0) < 5){

highestBar = iHighest(_Symbol,PERIOD_CURRENT,MODE_HIGH,lookbackTotal,0);

high = iHigh(_Symbol,PERIOD_CURRENT,highestBar);

lookbackTotal + 1;

}

Print(high," ",highestBar);

return high;

}