New EA won't place trades

Hi all,

I'm completely new to developing EAs so hopefully theres a simple solution to this problem that I just can't see due to my inexperience. The EA should open a position if there is a new candle on the 5 mins timeframe, if the trend on both the 15 mins and 1 hour timeframes (based on a comparison of the 50 and 200 period EMAs) is the same, if there is a good price to enter the trade based on the 50 period EMA on the 5 mins timeframe (for a buy position, the current price should be below the 50 period EMA on the 5 mins timeframe and visa-versa) and should place a trade if the last candle was an engulfing candle or a pin bar.

Currently, it just isnt placing any trades when I backtest it using the Strategy Tester. Any advice would really be appreciated.

Thanks!

Tom

Files:

1. double Ask=NormalizeDouble(SymbolInfoDouble(_Symbol,SYMBOL_ASK),_Digits);
    double Bid=NormalizeDouble(SymbolInfoDouble(_Symbol,SYMBOL_BID),_Digits);
    That is not an assignment; it's initialization of a static with a constant. Global and static variables work exactly the same way in MT4/MT5/C/C++.
    1. They are initialized once on program load.

2. They don't update unless you assign to them.

3. In C/C++ you can only initialize them with constants, and they default to zero. In MTx you should only initialize them with constants. There is no default in MT5, or MT4 with strict (which you should always use.)

MT4/MT5 actually compiles with non-constants, but the order that they are initialized is unspecified and don't try to use any price or server related functions in OnInit (or on load,) as there may be no connection/chart yet:
      1. Terminal starts.
      2. Indicators/EAs are loaded. Static and globally declared variables are initialized. (Do not depend on a specific order.)
      3. OnInit is called.
      4. For indicators OnCalculate is called with any existing history.
      5. Human may have to enter password, connection to server begins.