MQL5: Adviser not trading what is wrong?

Hi

My adviser does not want to trade. It compiles without errors but for the love of me doesn't open or close a trade.

What an i doing wrong.

Take note this is my first attempt so i might have missed some functionality.

Any advise would be appreciated.

Files:
DXO.mq5  7 kb

Martin: My adviser does not want to trade. It compiles without errors but for the love of me doesn't open or close a trade. What an i doing wrong. Take note this is my first attempt so i might have missed some functionality. Any advise would be appreciated.

Yikes! You are mixing apples, oranges, carrots, tomatoes, turnips and anything else under the sun!

Before considering coding an EA, you need first decide which language you want to learn and use (either MQL4 or MQL5), and after that, at least learn the structure of the functionality of an EA by looking at examples and reading the documentation.

Currently, your code mixes elements from MQL4 (old style), MQL4+ (new style) and MQL5.

• ".mq5" extension - meaning you are targeting MQL5 for MetaTrader 5
  • #include <Trade\Trade.mqh> - Using MQL5 classes for Trading Operations
  • init(), deinit(), start() - Old Style MQL4
  • OnInit(), OnTick() New Style MQL4+ or MQL5
  • OnTrade() - MQL5 (but has nothing to do with OnTick)
  • iMA() - the way you are using it is MQL4 (not MQL5)
  • etc.

Suffice to say, that as it stands now, there is no correct basic skeleton structure, on which to build on!

Fernando Carreiro:

Yikes! You are mixing apples, oranges, carrots, tomatoes, turnips and anything else under the sun!

Before considering coding an EA, you need first decide which language you want to learn and use (either MQL4 or MQL5), and after that, at least learn the structure of the functionality of an EA by looking at examples and reading the documentation.

Currently, your code mixes elements from MQL4 (old style), MQL4+ (new style) and MQL5.