Ask! - page 5

EDIT: Well, I guess you already got a response from Codersguru, but I'll leave this in place as it may help somebody else.

EDIT 2: I think you'll need reference JMASlope as I show below, due to the way it uses 2 buffers to give you the slope. Codersguru, please let me know if this is correct as you're The Man and I'm just a humble noob trying to learn to program. BTW, thank you so much for your MT4 programming tutorials. I knew a little, but now I know a lot more.

zuhainis:
Hi Codersguru,

I'm trying to get current JMASlope value using iCustom but not sure how to do it, can you please help me?

Is this correct?

double Slope = iCustom(NULL,0,"JMASlope",14,0,0);

Thank you.

double Slope = iCustom(NULL,0,"JMASlope",14,0,0);

The 0 in the above line of code sets which indicator buffer you want information from. In the code, you'll usually see them as IndexBuffers. There can be 8 buffers, from 0-7.

In the JMASlope indicator, if you look at the code, you'll notice that there are 2 indicator buffers, 0 and 1. 0 = UpBuffer and 1 = DnBuffer.

In most indicators you can choose whichever buffer holds the information that you want and just call that buffer. JMASlope is a little different, though. It uses 2 buffers to give you 1 piece of information, i.e. the slope. Buffer 0 keeps track of positive slopes, and buffer 1 keeps track of negative slopes. To get all the information into your EA you would need to reference both buffers, similar to the following:

double Slope

double SlopeUP = iCustom(NULL,0,"JMASlope",14,0,0)

double SlopeDN = iCustom(NULL,0,"JMASlope",14,1,0)

if(SlopeUP > 0) Slope = SlopeUP;

else

Slope = SlopeDN;