EA not recognizing its own orders if trading gold

I've been using an EA of my creation for a few years now and it always worked quite well (at least in terms of doing what was expected of it, results are a different story!)..

I've only used it on currencies so far without issues, but recently I tried to apply it to XAUUSD

The result is that the EA seems not to recognize its own orders and keeps opening new ones if it can, or doesn't close the open ones when it should...

Here's the snippet of code that does the order recognition. With currencies it works well.. with XAUUSD it doesn't enter into the if clause. Any ideas?

total= OrdersTotal();
int i=0;
for (i=0;i<total;i++)
   {
   OrderSelect(i, SELECT_BY_POS, MODE_TRADES);
   if (OrderMagicNumber()==MagicNumber && OrderSymbol()==Symbol())

biasibo:

I've been using an EA of my creation for a few years now and it always worked quite well (at least in terms of doing what was expected of it, results are a different story!)..

I've only used it on currencies so far without issues, but recently I tried to apply it to XAUUSD

The result is that the EA seems not to recognize its own orders and keeps opening new ones if it can, or doesn't close the open ones when it should...

Here's the snippet of code that does the order recognition. With currencies it works well.. with XAUUSD it doesn't enter into the if clause. Any ideas?

total= OrdersTotal();
int i=0;
for (i=0;i<total;i++)
   {
   OrderSelect(i, SELECT_BY_POS, MODE_TRADES);
   if (OrderMagicNumber()==MagicNumber && OrderSymbol()==Symbol())

This code seems ok, except you should check the return value of OrderSelect(). Are you sure the MagicNumber is good ?

You will probably have to post more code to get help.

Print out your variables, and find out why.

Alain Verleyen, what do you mean with being sure the MagicNumber is good? are there any "bad" magic numbers? Are there restrictions in length for example? is that what you mean?