Computing Power Optimization

Hi, guys!

This is my first thread, so let me introduce myself: I'm Jonatan from Argentina (South America). I've been a full-time trader for almost 10 years.

I'm not exactly new at general coding, but I am at MQL language (4 and 5).

My  concerns are about optimization... and not the Backteasting ones. I need a full-time coder/software engineer that get me straight on this.

I need to know what functions, loops, etc. are more "light execution". i.e. the loop "While" and "for" are really usefull, but does it take more computing power than nest some "if/else" statements?

Another example: is better to set a "series of variables" rather than use Arrays? It depends on the size?

The thing about all this, is to have the fastest data access/transfer possible.

If someone is willing to contribute, I'll be pleased.

Kind regards,

JCTrading. 

Hello,

good question, I can not answer much, as I am not aware of the internals of MQL and MQL compiler is pretty much basic . But as is the case in most ...cases, a good way to find out more on undocumented situations is to make your own benchmarks. In MQL you can use GetTickCount() to perform such a task. Ok, now on to what I am aware as of now

a. MQL has an optimization switch, flag, but you can use it (as far as I am aware) only in the command line, which is -o

b. Switch case can be more fast than ifs since I suspect it is executed as a series of goto statements (as MQL is C like, according to MetaQuote, and the manual states "The case keyword with a constant are just labels")

https://docs.mql4.com/basis/operators/switch and https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Switch_statement

c.  For is actually a while statement so you can get away with only using while; also while is rather basic