Identification of a new day

Ok. So I am trying to create a test that identifies if it is a new day. I am trying to do this through testing, on M1, to see if the date of the previous bar is less than the current bar. I have started with this:

double Yesterday = TimeToStr(iTime(Symbol(),PERIOD_M1,1),TIME_DATE);
                                    double Today = TimeToStr(iTime(Symbol(),PERIOD_M1,0),TIME_DATE);

Will this return the dates for each of the bars indicated?

I have complied, and for some reason, (which I cannot understand as of yet) it gives me an error saying '=' - incompatible types. It does this for the Yesterday =, rather than then Today =.

Why would this be? Is this a good way of identifying a new day if the following test below is used?

if(Yesterday < Today)
                    {

Does anyone have any suggestions? As some may know, I am VERY new to coding, so if you could explain it, I may be able to learn, rather than end up confused!

Thanks. 

NewCoder47:

Ok. So I am trying to create a test that identifies if it is a new day. I am trying to do this through testing, on M1, to see if the date of the previous bar is less than the current bar. I have started with this:

Will this return the dates for each of the bars indicated?

I have complied, and for some reason, (which I cannot understand as of yet) it gives me an error saying '=' - incompatible types. It does this for the Yesterday =, rather than then Today =.

Why would this be? Is this a good way of identifying a new day if the following test below is used?

Does anyone have any suggestions? As some may know, I am VERY new to coding, so if you could explain it, I may be able to learn, rather than end up confused!

Thanks. 

TimeToStr returns what kind of variable ?  what kind of variable does iTime() return ?  why would the date/time value for bar 1 ever not be less than the value for bar 0 ?