Newbie needs help determining bar shift since last closed order

Hi,

I’m new to mql4 and new to programming. I was hopping, someone could help me with this little problem I encountered. I need an EA to determine bar shift since the last closed order. This is what I came up with …

int BarsSinceLastOrder()
   {
   if(OrdersHistoryTotal()<1)
      {
      int BSLO=BSLOAcc;
      }
   else
      {   
      int HistoryTotal=OrdersHistoryTotal();
      for(int i=HistoryTotal+1;i==HistoryTotal;i--)
         {
         OrderSelect(i, SELECT_BY_POS, MODE_HISTORY);
         if(OrderType()<=OP_SELL && OrderSymbol()==Symbol() && OrderMagicNumber()==MagicNumber)
            {
            datetime POCT=OrderCloseTime();
            }
         }
      for(int n=0;;n++)
         {
         if(iTime(NULL,0,n)==POCT)
         n=BSLO;
         }
      }

return();
   }

Somehow it doesn’t seem right, and of course compilation shows an error: 'HistoryTotal' - variable expected

I'd appreciate any constructive comment or advice for a newbie. Thanx in advance.

DrLukas:

Hi,

I’m new to mql4 and new to programming. I was hopping, someone could help me with this little problem I encountered. I need an EA to determine bar shift since the last closed order. This is what I came up with …

Somehow it doesn’t seem right, and of course compilation shows an error: 'HistoryTotal' - variable expected

I'd appreciate any constructive comment or advice for a newbie. Thanx in advance.

Hi DrLukas,

1. Your "variable expected" err occurs because you use old and obsolete function of MQL - possibly a function used before MQL4. Search for it in MetaEditor or Click here and search for function name HistoryTotal. To solve this, just rename that variable into something else, for example HistoryTotals, there I add letter 's' after Total, and you won't have that err again.