How is the back testing that can be tested by: IsTesting() implemented and controlled ?

The IsTesting() function returns TRUE if the EA can do BackTesting and FALSE if not.

But how is the capability of the EA to do BackTesting implemented and controlled?

FourX:

The IsTesting() function returns TRUE if the EA can do BackTesting and FALSE if not.

Nope . . . . I think you have mis-interpreted what this function means.

"Returns TRUE if expert runs in the testing mode, otherwise returns FALSE."

I think it tells you if the EA is currently running in the Strategy Tester . . . . or not.

RaptorUK:

"Returns TRUE if expert runs in the testing mode, otherwise returns FALSE."

I think it tells you if the EA is currently running in the Strategy Tester . . . . or not.

Translation for non-English audience :-)

"You have mis-interpreted what this function means."

"It tells you if the EA is currently running in the Strategy Tester . . . . or not."

LOL . . . I am by no means an expert, I always like to leave room to be wrong . . . and to be shown to be wrong. ;-)

RaptorUK:
LOL . . . I am by no means an expert, I always like to leave room to be wrong . . . and to be shown to be wrong. ;-)
LOL, And there was me thinking you were just being excessively polite :-)

I think there is only polite or impolite . . . I don't think one can be excessively polite ;-)

RaptorUK:
I think there is only polite or impolite . . . I don't think one can be excessively polite ;-)
I think politeness is a double not a bool, but then again I am an analog engineer not a digital one :-)

Nice on topic and in context answer :-)

RaptorUK:

"Returns TRUE if expert RUNS in the testing mode, otherwise returns FALSE."

I don't think so Raptor.

It says if it 'RUNS', meaning will it run in back testing or not? Not if it 'is running'.

So it returns TRUE IF it WILL run in the BackTesting mode.

dabbler:
I think politeness is a double not a bool, but then again I am an analog engineer not a digital one :-)